I'm Petty... And I Like It That Way
Thursday, Aug. 15, 2002 - 9:29 AM

The night before last I made a mental note as to what I was going to wear. I don't normally lay out my clothes, I just think about what's clean and what doesn't have to be ironed. 50% of the time I'm wrong about it being clean or ironed. Then it takes me a full extra 30 seconds to get ready in the morning. Anyway, I had a meeting yesterday so I was going to wear my shirt with the French cuffs, my favorite pair of cufflinks, and my black pants (they were the pants that were not dirty and didn't need ironing).

The problem when I got up the next morning is I couldn't find my cufflinks. Oh, yeah, and I didn't have a black belt to go with my black pants. And a brown belt with black pants and black shoes doesn't just not match... it looks goofy. So, I threw out the black pants and switched to the pair of khakis that was the closest to looking ironed. And, of course without my favorite cufflinks, I just wasn't into my French cuff shirt. So, I threw that out, too. I went with a solid white shirt with a collar that does its own thing and my blue check Tommy Hilfiger tie. I've looked better, and the belt is what I bought last night at the mall, but that's not the reason for this post.

The reason for this post is to lament the missing cufflinks. As previously mentioned, they're my favorite cufflinks. Why? Because I bought them to go to my ex-girlfriend's mom's wedding. They set me back $85. But it was worth it. Not because anything was said about them or because she necessarily even noticed... just because I felt better about seeing my ex for the first time since she got married in $85 cufflinks. I'm petty. And I like it that way.

Oh, cufflinks. Poor cufflinks. If you're reading this, where have you gone? I miss you. Come home soon.

Speak Up


< - Latest - Ex-entries - Pete's Mom Index - CoffeeOrder - Notes - Email - >


Ex-Entries

It's Not Supposed To Burn When You Wake Up

New Post

So Let It Be

Customer Gets Serviced

Keri Is Going To Hell

My current imood: Is unavailable.
IM Me on AIM
| IM My Cell

Copyright � 2002-2005 Cherry Soda and a Porch Swing, Summer of '54 Productions
Get Firefox!