The Beach
Thursday, Sept. 05, 2002 - 2:13 PM

Sometimes I know. Sometimes I don't. If I don't, I'm not afraid to say so and I'm not afraid to ask. If I don't get it, that's okay. If I can't remember it, I won't try.

Sometimes I can. Sometimes I can't. If I can, I'm not afraid to try and I'm not afraid to get hurt in the process. I can take a bullet from the one I'm protecting. I can't take more than a few, but I'm willing to take as many as I can. In the sometimes that I can't, I know it and I want to run away.

When I dream of running away, it's to the beach. The beach has palm trees and a setting sun. It's not hot there, but the sun is warm on my cool skin. We hold hands and laugh and watch the waves. But I hate swimming, so we never get in.

It reminds me of a time in Nagercoil, India when life was simpler and we went to the beach and we threw the American football in the sand and waves. You were there and I threw you in. You and you were not there, but I thought of you, so you were there in my heart. You were supposed to be there, but you couldn't be. That made me sad, but that's the way it was meant to be.

But I cannot run to my beach. So I'll stand here on the hard concrete in my shoes and tie. I'll tug at the collar around my neck to try to make a little of the sweat evaporate. And I'll put on my bulletproof vest so I can do what needs to be done.

I'm not afraid. I'm not the enemy. I'm here to help. Tell me how.

Speak Up


< - Latest - Ex-entries - Pete's Mom Index - CoffeeOrder - Notes - Email - >


Ex-Entries

It's Not Supposed To Burn When You Wake Up

New Post

So Let It Be

Customer Gets Serviced

Keri Is Going To Hell

My current imood: Is unavailable.
IM Me on AIM
| IM My Cell

Copyright � 2002-2005 Cherry Soda and a Porch Swing, Summer of '54 Productions
Get Firefox!