Baby On Board
Thursday, Oct. 10, 2002 - 11:58 AM

Sometime around the time I was 4 I learned to read. When I learned to read I started noticing everything that had words on it. Restaurants, food packages, name tags, highway directional signs, and the "Baby on Board" suction cup diamonds on the back of minivans and station wagons. (Hey, remember station wagons? What ever happened to those? The '80s are back, why aren't station wagons?)

Baby on Board.

Parents of babies and expectant parents proudly displayed these on their vehicles. It wasn't until last week that I realized how utterly rediculous that was. These middle aged folks (you never see the knocked up 18 year old with one of these) lick 'n' stick these diamond-caution-sign-shaped announcements to their car windows presumably in hopes that this will somehow keep their children safe.

I can picture the person who puts these on their car seeing in their mind's eye their gray Caravans will have a force field around them. On the highway will be their vehicle and no other vehicle withint 10 yards of it. Happily cruising along the Interstate like an air bubble through water.

I wonder how long that dillusion lasts. Afterall, I know when I see stuff suction cupped to a window or a bumper sticker in small print I have to tail gate the guy until I can read it. They're really imposing more danger on themself.

Oh, yeah... and I'm still cutting you off!

Speak Up


< - Latest - Ex-entries - Pete's Mom Index - CoffeeOrder - Notes - Email - >


Ex-Entries

It's Not Supposed To Burn When You Wake Up

New Post

So Let It Be

Customer Gets Serviced

Keri Is Going To Hell

My current imood: Is unavailable.
IM Me on AIM
| IM My Cell

Copyright � 2002-2005 Cherry Soda and a Porch Swing, Summer of '54 Productions
Get Firefox!