Thumb Wars
Monday, Mar. 03, 2003 - 12:29 PM

Every year my family vacations during the ninth week of the year. That's the last week of February for those of you that don't feel up to the challenge of counting to nine. This year it was changed to mid March because my brother's wedding is going to be in Florida and we decided to make the whole thing into one giant lalapalooza.

While this year was pretty much unavoidable as to our destination, my family fights every year over where to go. There are a select few in my family that are anally retentive and have to get their way. These people plan on where to go next year before the current vacation is over. The rest of us are fly-by-the-seat-of-your-pants, spontaneous type. We wouldn't plan our next vacation until a month before hand if it were up to us.

The effect of this is that we always go wherever the anxious few want to go because they have to start making plans immediatly. This year Keri, my mom, and I have decided to decide where we're going next year before this year even gets here... kinda a "beat 'em at their own game" sorta thing. We're pulling for Hawaii next year.

However, this morning while waiting on the van to arrive to... vanpool?... I overheard my mom say to my dad "I want you to sit down with me later and..." she trailed off lost in her own thoughts and not giving consideration to my dad who was waisting his time waiting for her to finish. That's not the point of the story, though. The point of the story is the first thing that came to mind when I tried to finish the sentence was "thumb wrestle me." This gave me an idea.

I think that we should have thumb wrestling tournaments to decide where we're going to go on the next vacation. Because our family has 13 people in it, the first thing we'd do is have a lottory to see which person is automatically entered in the semi-finals. In the example below Lisa won the lotto.

Next, the tiers are filled out according to age. After that would come the thumb wrestling. The first two tiers would be best two out of three. The semi-finals would be best three out of five and the finals would be best 5 out of 7. As you can see in my example, I get to choose where we go next year. :oD



Speak Up


< - Latest - Ex-entries - Pete's Mom Index - CoffeeOrder - Notes - Email - >


Ex-Entries

It's Not Supposed To Burn When You Wake Up

New Post

So Let It Be

Customer Gets Serviced

Keri Is Going To Hell

My current imood: Is unavailable.
IM Me on AIM
| IM My Cell

Copyright � 2002-2005 Cherry Soda and a Porch Swing, Summer of '54 Productions
Get Firefox!