Rain, Rain, Go Away... (The End)
Tuesday, Jun. 24, 2003 - 10:23 PM

As you know from recent posts, it's been raining here lately like it's the Amazon. The other day I went to the movies and waited (and waited and waited... I gave her bad directions) for a friend. In the roughly hour and a half that I waited outside it wasn't raining, rained, stopped raining, rained again, and stopped raining again. Throughout that time various movies ended and throngs of people left.

Evidently when it rains for 35 out of 40 days (or whatever it is... we're more than 10" over our average for the year) you automatically become a meteorologist. I say this because 4 out of 5 groups leaving the movie theater had at least one person that either said "Oh, it's going to rain." or else "Oh, it just stopped raining." Evidently this is what you have to say if there are clouds in the sky or the ground is wet.

The funny part about this, though, is that usually these people were wrong. When "It's going to rain" was said, it had just finished. When "It just stopped" was said, it started momentarily.

I can understand thinking it was about to start when dark clouds loomed in the sky, but when the ground is wet and there's sunshine overhead, but dark clouds not too far away, I'm thinkin' you should know that it has just stopped raining. I mean, crikey! What are they teaching in Meteorology 101 these days?

Speak Up


< - Latest - Ex-entries - Pete's Mom Index - CoffeeOrder - Notes - Email - >


Ex-Entries

It's Not Supposed To Burn When You Wake Up

New Post

So Let It Be

Customer Gets Serviced

Keri Is Going To Hell

My current imood: Is unavailable.
IM Me on AIM
| IM My Cell

Copyright � 2002-2005 Cherry Soda and a Porch Swing, Summer of '54 Productions
Get Firefox!