Aussie Aussie Aussie, Auy Auy Auy!
Thursday, May. 27, 2004 - 10:02 AM

A few summers ago I went on what has been to date my favorite vacation of all time. My brother, his girlfriend (now wife), one of her friends, and I travelled to the nation-island of Australia and had a grand old time.

Those that know me know that I don't remember much. There are very few actual experiences from this trip that I actually remember. I do, however, remember some specifics from each of the three cities we visited -- Sydney, Carnes, and Melbourne.

My favorite of these memories happened while we did something that I thought was stupid before doing it. We crossed the Sydney Harbor Bridge by foot.

Walking from one end of a large bridge to the other isn't my idea of a good story to tell my grandkids. "Yep. We walked from one side to the other. That's how we spent our time in Australia."

What I remember that I cherish from this experience, though, is that while we were walking across there was an occasional runner jogging across. One such man was running toward us huffing and puffing as though he might not make it. As he was running toward me, I decided it was time to high-five my first Aussie. So I put up my hand and wondered if he would run by ignoring the crazy American or if he'd return the gesture and our hands would meet.

Our hands met. It's the little things in life, I guess. I often think of that and wonder what was going through that guy's mind as he high-fived me. I wonder if he ever thinks about the day that a guy on the Harbor Bridge decided to give him a high-five. I wonder if that confuses him. I wonder if I'm thought about sometimes by a person I've never said a word to yet still purposely touched for less than a second.

That's something I'll never know.

Speak Up


< - Latest - Ex-entries - Pete's Mom Index - CoffeeOrder - Notes - Email - >


Ex-Entries

It's Not Supposed To Burn When You Wake Up

New Post

So Let It Be

Customer Gets Serviced

Keri Is Going To Hell

My current imood: Is unavailable.
IM Me on AIM
| IM My Cell

Copyright � 2002-2005 Cherry Soda and a Porch Swing, Summer of '54 Productions
Get Firefox!