Looking Out For Number One
Monday, Sept. 20, 2004 - 8:52 PM

This is my blog. If you don't want to read something that you might not like, you shouldn't read this entry. Don't ask me about it. I'm not going to answer you and it's none of your business anyway. I strongly recommend and even request that you don't read this entry if you've ever met me face to face. This is the first time in 1,016 posts that I've ever made this request and probably the last.

The last several days and weeks have caused me to lose my faith in mankind. Left and right people have been rude and self-centered. Fast food places showed me a thumb hitch-hiker style to tell me without a word to go to the next window. The guy at McDonald's who was unable to provide all my food the first time I ordered it rang me up and held out his hand without saying a word. It seemed as though he was demanding money from me instead of serving me. People neglected to say thank you and have a nice day -- even when I said it first. Best friends made out with little sisters. People I cared about didn't actively care about me. People cut us off and gave us dirty looks. O'Reilly made me realize that there are only two people in this world are really looking out for me. I am one of those people. Teenagers sat in big comfy chairs but still left their bookbags at the table so a couple of old people walking hunched over with a pretzle on a plate couldn't sit down and eat. People left the group without telling the leader and almost getting two locals put in jail while keeping 3 others up into the night trying to figure out what happened to them. Me now. Screw you. Don't wanna. Can't make me. Have a nice life.

I walked into the store tonight to get a pint of ice cream. "People suck," I thought as I walked between two check out counters to get to the ice cream. "All people. All people suck." I bought my ice cream and then stood at the trash can next to the door as I looked at the coupons that had been printed out for me based on my purchases. I decided what I wanted to keep and threw away the rest. And then I stepped out in front of the exit to walk out without looking. I stepped in front of someone that was trying to leave. "Wow," I thought. "I am one of those people that sucks." I was shocked and it took me a second and a half before I finally forced out a very sheepish and ashamed "Sorry." And then he said, "It's okay, bud! We're both going the same direction." He almost made me cry. He'll never know what that meant to me. He is the first person that I've met in a long time that seemed to actually care about his fellow man. Not someone he knew -- just someone that was a fellow man.

Speak Up


< - Latest - Ex-entries - Pete's Mom Index - CoffeeOrder - Notes - Email - >


Ex-Entries

It's Not Supposed To Burn When You Wake Up

New Post

So Let It Be

Customer Gets Serviced

Keri Is Going To Hell

My current imood: Is unavailable.
IM Me on AIM
| IM My Cell

Copyright � 2002-2005 Cherry Soda and a Porch Swing, Summer of '54 Productions
Get Firefox!