The Duke of West Virginia
Saturday, Oct. 02, 2004 - 8:33 PM

I went to a party this afternoon at my new neighbor's house. They were stationed in Germany for eight years and had a kickin' German feast for all invited. The guy's step-dad was there and that's who my family mostly talked to; his step-dad and mom.

His step-dad, Duke, not only has a kickin' name, he's who I want to be when I grow up. He talked for a while about how he and Mary Jane are retiring soon. They currently live in Pensacola, FL, but about two years ago bought property in Nowhere, West Virginia. They've been fixing up a house ever since and will, in the next few months, both retire and move there, spending about eleven months of the year there and returning to their house in Florida for a month or so each year.

He is retired military and now works as a postal worker. As he was delivering the mail, he would deliver these newsletters from some church in WVa to a local church. He explained how the pictures on the front are so beautiful that it made him want to move there.

My dad asked him what he planned on doing once they moved there -- what kind of activities.

"Well," he answered, "the first thing we did was add a huge porch and bought two rocking chairs."

This elicited laughter from the table as we thought he was joking.

"I'm serious. Right now the main plan involves sitting in our rocking chairs with a cup of coffee at 5 o'clock and watch the sun come up or the sun go down -- depending on whether it's AM or PM.

And I thought to myself, I want to sit in my rocking chair with my wife at 5 o'clock and sip hot beverages while we watch the pinks and purples and royal blues of dusk and dawn. When I grow up, I want to be Duke.

Speak Up


< - Latest - Ex-entries - Pete's Mom Index - CoffeeOrder - Notes - Email - >


Ex-Entries

It's Not Supposed To Burn When You Wake Up

New Post

So Let It Be

Customer Gets Serviced

Keri Is Going To Hell

My current imood: Is unavailable.
IM Me on AIM
| IM My Cell

Copyright � 2002-2005 Cherry Soda and a Porch Swing, Summer of '54 Productions
Get Firefox!