Doesn't Anybody Know Why They Stand For Kerry?
Thursday, Oct. 14, 2004 - 11:06 PM

Okay, I wasn't going to post this because it just rehashes some of the stuff I already brought up. But I can't find ANY Kerry supporters to explain this to me. I know quite a few of you are Kerry supporters, so I'm hoping you'll please, please, please help me out. Surely you know the answers to these questions if you support the man.

Kerry wants to buy Canadian drugs so we have cheaper drugs. What do you do with the thousands of jobs that will be lost when R&D screeches to a halt in innovative American companies? Many of Canada's drugs are generic or alternate versions of the drugs our drug companies developed. Less money being paid to these drug companies means less funding for R&D. He also wants to have the Government run our health care system. This defeats the very purpose of capitalism. We're not a communist country. And it's worked for us. We have better products at lower prices because there is incentive to compete. This applies to drugs as well. Making clone drugs is not innovation. That wont save more lives in the future. That wont come up with the cure for cancer. The government putting their hands on my body's defense tools (hm... sounds familiar) would only lead to inferior drugs at higher prices.

Also, I'm glad you'd like to give us a choice when it comes to healthcare, Mr. Kerry, but I was unaware that I don't currently have a choice. If I wanted BlueCross BlueShield so I could be like John Kerry, could I not have BlueCross BlueShield right now? Oh, that's
right... I DO have CareFirst BlueCross BlueShield right now.

Kerry wants to raise the taxes of the rich and give it to the poor. I'm all for giving to the poor. But that's the church's job, not the government's. What happened to the separation of church and state that liberals love to talk about? So, we tax the rich. What then? Well,
then we're taxing small business owners. And these taxed small business owners can't make payroll. And then there are no longer small businesses to tax a little as was done under Bush because they ran out of money and had to shut down. The economy goes into a tail spin. Big business is the only business capable of making it now, which means they don't have to worry about start-ups. Prices go up. Quality goes down. Thanks, Kerry.

Kerry talked last night about a new, flourishing economy like that of
the 90s. The economy of the 90s? Was this supposed to be one of the jokes his writers wrote for him? The economy of the 90s was artificial and ended up bursting and sending our economy into a tail spin. The economy started tanking before Bush came into office. It happened when the dotcom bubble that was the foundation of the flourishing 90s economy. Am I the only one that remembers a pre-9/11 world? Am I the only one that remembers Pets.com going under? Am I the only one that remembers our economy went down the tubes because an artificial market was in place? The 90s started out strong and ended up with the line going in the downward direction. The economy of the 90s isn't something I want to see repeated now that I'm part of the work force.

Which brings me to jobs. Kerry wanted to make sure you knew how many jobs were lost on Bush's watch. Apparently he's forgotten that the financial mecca of the US was blown up and dozens and dozens of strong companies lost headquarters and offices. A national tragedy had an effect on the economy. It's simple math, Senator. Inherited down-turned economy+ national tragedy = rough times. When did it become the President's job to create jobs anyway? It's his job to create an environment hospitable to new jobs, not to create the jobs. And I think with his tax cuts and his strong support of small business, he's created that ecosystem. And now we just have to wait for the seeds to finish germinating. Even in a world of instant messaging and electronic pictures in seconds, there are some things that take time.

So, you wanna raise minimum wage. Super. Except for one thing. When wages go up, things cost more. It's not like you can just print off more money to have. There are consequences to every action. This isn't being done in a vacuum.

And speaking of money, why is it that I shouldn't be allowed to invest my Social Security the way I want to? Why do you think that the money I've earned should be put somewhere that the government decides? Why do you should I not have the opportunity to do what I want to with my money?

Speak Up


< - Latest - Ex-entries - Pete's Mom Index - CoffeeOrder - Notes - Email - >


Ex-Entries

It's Not Supposed To Burn When You Wake Up

New Post

So Let It Be

Customer Gets Serviced

Keri Is Going To Hell

My current imood: Is unavailable.
IM Me on AIM
| IM My Cell

Copyright � 2002-2005 Cherry Soda and a Porch Swing, Summer of '54 Productions
Get Firefox!