Black Fridayfest Smackdown 2K4
Friday, Nov. 26, 2004 - 7:41 PM

Someone once told me about three African American co-workers trying to get off from work for Black Friday claiming a religious holiday. For my friends from across the boarder/pond, Black Friday is the day after American Thanksgiving and is the third busiest shopping day of the year. It's usually mistakenly called the busiest shopping day of the year, but the first two are Christmas Eve and the day before; last minute shoppers.

Yesterday I spent a bit of time driving around. I was amazed by the lack of cars in my normally bustling suburb. Today I couldn't believe the traffic. It seemed as though all the neighboring suburbs came to my area to drive around.

I decided today that you should have to pass a courtesy test before being allowed to go out on Black Friday. The lack of courtesy is overwhelming. People ignoring traffic laws and people walking in a long line down the middle of the parking lot streets so you have to drive at 3 MPH behind them waiting to find a parking spot and people pushing and shoving and yelling in your ear. At least half of Americans wouldn't pass this test.

Today I bought one Christmas present. I did this only because Keri and I are buying the present together and she wanted to buy it today. I now have two Christmas presents out of roughly 20 bought. They are both co-presents. I bought this present at Express where I had the best shopping experience I've ever had. I'm considering going there to hang out sometimes because everyone is really friendly and helpful and nice. If they're that way on Black Friday, imagine what the rest of the year is like.

Speak Up


< - Latest - Ex-entries - Pete's Mom Index - CoffeeOrder - Notes - Email - >


Ex-Entries

It's Not Supposed To Burn When You Wake Up

New Post

So Let It Be

Customer Gets Serviced

Keri Is Going To Hell

My current imood: Is unavailable.
IM Me on AIM
| IM My Cell

Copyright � 2002-2005 Cherry Soda and a Porch Swing, Summer of '54 Productions
Get Firefox!