| |
Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2002 - 9:13 PM

I have a picture of me standing next to the statue of liberty at the top of the World Trade Center. We used to go to New York City often and show people that had never been there around. We'd park at Battery Park and take the ferry to climb Lady Liberty. We'd visit Peir 17 with the giant barrel of pickles. We'd go to the Empire State Building. Times Square. Broadway. NBC Studios at Rockerfeller Center.

But the place that I remember loving to go to most was the Twin Towers. There they stood. Once the tallest buildings in the world. At the time still the tallest identical buildings in the world. Sometimes we'd go up the tower where you could go out on the roof. Usually we'd go to the one with the shops and the restaurants.

The next to last time I was in New York we took to the city to the tip of downtown. We got off at the newest looking subway in the city. At the World Trade Center. As we walked out there was still a church whose fence was lined with photos of lost loved ones. Of typed prayers and hand written encouragement. And as I looked accross the street for the first time since September 11, 2001 I saw two gaping holes. And I cried.

I may not have known anyone lost in the tradgedy. I may not have worked in the building. I may not have visited as often as I would have liked. But a part of my heart was missing. There are two identical holes that can now only be filled by my memories. I hope those memories never escape from me.

Always remember to live life to the fullest. You never know when that life will be taken from you.

In closing...
Father, thank You for another day. Thank You for another breath. Thank You for placing me in a free country. Thank You for protecting me. Thank You for protecting those I love. May I live my life to Your fullest.

_ _

Speak Up


< - Latest - Ex-entries - Pete's Mom Index - CoffeeOrder - Notes - Email - >


Ex-Entries

It's Not Supposed To Burn When You Wake Up

New Post

So Let It Be

Customer Gets Serviced

Keri Is Going To Hell

My current imood: Is unavailable.
IM Me on AIM
| IM My Cell

Copyright � 2002-2005 Cherry Soda and a Porch Swing, Summer of '54 Productions
Get Firefox!