The Rainy Day
Thursday, Sept. 26, 2002 - 7:47 PM

It was cold today. And it rained. And it rained, and it rained, and it rained.

It was so perfect. It made me feel 17 again. Those nights in the winter where Keri and I would go for a walk and life was perfect. Or in the fall when I'd throw around the football outside with Chad and life was perfect. Or a clear winter's night when Keri and I would watch a meteor shower from the tennis court in our warm sleeping bags while chugging huge mugs of hot cocoa.

And life was perfect.

I don't know why life is so perfect tonight. I guess it just feels like winter again. The cold in my lungs almost causing me to wince. Walking into Barnes & Noble and the warm air comforting them while looking for the Barista of the Week to watch while I sipped a tripple grande caramel mocha breve. Taking a shower and then slipping into oversized, warm sweatpants to play the newest release of NCAA Football. Walking with my mom and having it hurt, but feel so good being out of breath.

Mom. :o) And Keri. :o) And Chad and Kevin and Missy and Laura and Lisa and Dad.

:o)

Mark and Bethany and Amy. :o) :o) :o)

Life was simple. Life was fun. I could accomplish anything. I wanted to do everything. I could run for 100 miles in the rain and not grow tired. I could read 12 dozen books and learn everything within their covers. I could make you feel better effortlessly. You didn't bring me down with your problems. You were a challenge... but not much of one. Just enough to make it fun.

That's where I am tonight. 1998. At our apartments. Out in the cold. And I love it.

And life is perfect.

I want to leave you tonight with three thoughts. Number one isn't really a thought. It's a picture. You can find it here.

Number two pertains to "i could be your punk rock princess. -if you would be my garage band king." I wish someone had said that to me. Keri, sometimes the words that come out of your... uh... fingers are music to my... eyes?

Number three is:

I saw a car wreck where I-95 meets 100 tonight. There were police and an ambulance. Everyone knows that when you pass an accident you have to slow down and rubberneck. But I realized tonight that people probably do it for different reasons -- some to see if they can catch any blood and guts on the pavement -- the others hold their breath until they can make sure no one's hurt. Which one are you? Will you post a note and let me know?

Speak Up


< - Latest - Ex-entries - Pete's Mom Index - CoffeeOrder - Notes - Email - >


Ex-Entries

It's Not Supposed To Burn When You Wake Up

New Post

So Let It Be

Customer Gets Serviced

Keri Is Going To Hell

My current imood: Is unavailable.
IM Me on AIM
| IM My Cell

Copyright � 2002-2005 Cherry Soda and a Porch Swing, Summer of '54 Productions
Get Firefox!