NAG AJEEERET Experience
Friday, Mar. 07, 2003 - 10:20 AM

Last evening the News Anchors Guild (NAG) presented me with an Award for Journalistic Excellence. This is an award that I've been aware I was going to receive for quite some time and the elation that I felt when I first found out I was going to receive it had worn off some time ago. However, when I finally realized that the day of the event had come, the elation returned.

NAG presents this award every year in many categories. The category that I won was for Award for Jounalistic Excellence Exibited by an Emerging or Re-Emerging Talent. I was up against the likes of Donahue and Mickey Rooney who really hasn't ever gone away, but people find ways to ignore him until he says something really stupid thus creating the illusion of him re-emerging.

I arrived at the awards with Bill O'Reilly, although just as old friends as neither one of us is gay. We sat with Sean Hannity, Chris Matthews, and their respective dates. I thought Chris was going to fall out of his seat laughing when I yelled to Bryant Gumbel, "What's up NAGer?" as he passed by. Bryant didn't find it as funny.

It was known that Barbara Walters was going to present the award to me and Sean was a riot as he kept talking to me in a very convincing imitation of Barbie. "What evwyone here would wike to know..."

When it was finally time for my award, Barbara made specific references to my articles on my political stances as sited in my Letter to Canada, my documentary following Bobo the monkey, my investigative reporting exposing the Mario Brothers' drug connection, and aknowledged my continued dedication to showing the world the real Pete's Mom.

There was a slightly embarassing moment as I went up to receive my award and after a night filled with Sean Hannity's Walters impersionation, I began giving my acceptance speach with the same impediment. Barbara was cool about it, though. She probably either hears it so much that it she doesn't notice it anymore, or that it doesn't bother her anymore.

Anyway, it was a nice guesture by NAG and I'm sure Mickey Rooney will have another crack at it next year.

===========================================================

"A slavish concern for the composition of words is the sign of a bankrupt intellect." -- Humbug, The Phantom Tollbooth, 1961 Thank you, Bethany. It's perfect. :o)



Speak Up


< - Latest - Ex-entries - Pete's Mom Index - CoffeeOrder - Notes - Email - >


Ex-Entries

It's Not Supposed To Burn When You Wake Up

New Post

So Let It Be

Customer Gets Serviced

Keri Is Going To Hell

My current imood: Is unavailable.
IM Me on AIM
| IM My Cell

Copyright � 2002-2005 Cherry Soda and a Porch Swing, Summer of '54 Productions
Get Firefox!