...And Boy Are My Arms Feet Tired
Sunday, Jun. 29, 2003 - 12:20 AM

Today I went to Washington, DC with my parents. I work in DC five days a week, 49 weeks a year. (I get three weeks paid vacation.) But today I was there as a tourist. And today I realized how much I never notice stuff there in DC.

We've lived in the same general area (about a half hour north of DC providing there's no traffic which is only between the hours of 2 and 5:30 AM) and only visited DC just to site-see once that I recall. (Although we've gone there for special, leisurly events such as hockey games many more times than that.) My mom has been wanting to see the city for some time now, so I offered to take her today.

We kicked off the day by going to the 2:00 matinee of Chicago at the National Theatre. I took her to the near-seculded park near the White House, past the Treasury building, to the White House, the Old Executive Offices, and then we ate at Potbelly. We walked down Pennsylvania Avenue to the Capitol Building, passing the J. Edgar Hoover FBI Building, FTC building, Canadian Embassy, the Old Post Office, and various other buildings. Then we walked from the Capitol through the Mall, where various festivals were taking place, to the Washington Monument and on to the Lincoln Memorial. And, after nine hours of walking, we finally headed for home.

Today was a good day. I think I'll keep it.

Random Link

Speak Up


< - Latest - Ex-entries - Pete's Mom Index - CoffeeOrder - Notes - Email - >


Ex-Entries

It's Not Supposed To Burn When You Wake Up

New Post

So Let It Be

Customer Gets Serviced

Keri Is Going To Hell

My current imood: Is unavailable.
IM Me on AIM
| IM My Cell

Copyright � 2002-2005 Cherry Soda and a Porch Swing, Summer of '54 Productions
Get Firefox!