Driven to Insanity
Sunday, Sept. 29, 2002 - 12:48 AM

On Tuesday I was driving from DC to my house at 5:30 in the morning. Mark and I pulled up to a light and watched someone beside us fully brake. Then, he proceded to bend down to the floor to pick up something. As he did this his foot slowly came off the brake. I didn't see any of this. What I did experience was Mark yelling to the guy "Put you foot back on the brake!" as if he could hear him. So I looked up just in time to see him rear end the SUV in front of him. Mark and I laughed. The guy in the SUV did not.

That same morning on the way back to the office we were traveling I-95 south and we hit a dead stop in our stop and go traffic we like to call the morning commute. Pete was driving and was about to rear end the lady that was last in the stopped people line, so he pulled off into the shoulder so he wouldn't hit her. The lady looked up and craned her neck. She couldn't for the life of her understand why we had just pulled up next to her in the shoulder. She looked mad like she thought we were trying to get around her or something. It became Pete's mission to get to the I-495 interchange before that lady.

Yesterday as we left an America Online relocation we stopped to get gas before getting back on the road to head home. I tried to pull into the Exxon station, but there was a guy blocking the entrance. He just sat there. He looked at me and shook his head to let me know he was not going to back up and I'd just have to wait until the light turned green to enter the gas station. So, I rolled down my window.

"Excuse me," I yelled in a pleasant tone (no sarcasm... I really was using a pleasant tone... well, as much of one as you can use when you're yelling over the noise of idle engines at a stop light). "Sir? You're blocking the intersection."

In that same pleasant tone, "That's illegal."

He moved.

Speak Up


< - Latest - Ex-entries - Pete's Mom Index - CoffeeOrder - Notes - Email - >


Ex-Entries

It's Not Supposed To Burn When You Wake Up

New Post

So Let It Be

Customer Gets Serviced

Keri Is Going To Hell

My current imood: Is unavailable.
IM Me on AIM
| IM My Cell

Copyright � 2002-2005 Cherry Soda and a Porch Swing, Summer of '54 Productions
Get Firefox!