Memories of Melbourne
Friday, Jun. 11, 2004 - 11:12 AM

My most memorable experience from Melbourne during my two week trip to Australia took place while eating. We ate about half the time in mom and pop shops or fast food places and the other half of the time we ate in decent restaurants. Also during the trip, Chad, who apparently watched him some Ed, liked to bet people a fake $10 to do things. (Unlike the time he really gave me ten bucks.)

Anyway, he said, "Ten dollars to ask for every dish of your meal to be on a separate plate."

Well, this was simply too easy of a bet not to take him up on it. So I did. I ordered the grilled chicken which came with a vegetable medley and some other side item. "And if you could, please just put each dish on its own plate. I don't like my foods touching each other."

"No problem, sir."

Ten minutes later the waiter came back. "The vegetable medley, sir... it's carrots, peas, and squash all mixed together. Would you like them to be separated into separate bowls?"

I thanked him, but declined. The vegetable medley would be fine as is.

He returned with my grilled chicken on one plate, my vegetables in a bowl on the side, and the other side item in its own bowl.

When we left, I tipped him well.



Speak Up


< - Latest - Ex-entries - Pete's Mom Index - CoffeeOrder - Notes - Email - >


Ex-Entries

It's Not Supposed To Burn When You Wake Up

New Post

So Let It Be

Customer Gets Serviced

Keri Is Going To Hell

My current imood: Is unavailable.
IM Me on AIM
| IM My Cell

Copyright � 2002-2005 Cherry Soda and a Porch Swing, Summer of '54 Productions
Get Firefox!